Where We Work & What We Do

The Jacobs Farmhouse

The Jacobs Farmhouse is considered Society Headquarters and is located at 4 Jacobs Lane in Norwell.  The house was originally built in 1726.  Members of the Jacobs family lived in the house continuously until 1939 when it was given to the Society for the Preservation of New England Antiquities (today called Historic New England).   The Norwell Historical Society oversees the museum on the right side of the Farmhouse. The museum is open for tours at our events and by appointment (e-mail the Society here to inquire). A video tour is available HERE.

The Historical Society Research Library

The Norwell Historical Society Research Library at the Norwell Middle School (328 Main Street, Route 123, behind Sparrell School) is open on Wednesdays from 2:30 to 3:30 during the school year, or by appointment by e-mailing the Society here. Need to do research? Like to access our collections? Please contact us--we love to help with research.

Norwell Historical Society Archives

The Norwell Historical Society Archives Center on the 3rd floor of the Sparrell School is open by appointment only:  please e-mail the Society here.  The Archives house numerous historic documents, temperature-sensitive historic items, and the Maryjane Clark Collection of decorative arts.


The Society Officers & Board of Directors

President:  Wendy Bawabe

Secretary:  Sarah Jane Baker

Treasurer:  Marybeth Shea

Archivist:  Janet Watson

Board Members:  Laurie Detwiler, Chad Forman, Christian Jevne, and Jody Vermette

The Society Board meets monthly on Wednesdays from 2:30-3:30 (see the EVENTS page for the up-to-date schedule). Meetings are open to everyone.

Past Presidents

The following is a listing of past presidents of the Norwell Historial Society, which was established in 1935:

Joseph Foster Merritt (1935-1940)

George C. Turner (1940-1952)

William Gould Vinal (1952-1955)

Margaret Crowell Dumas (1955-1963)

John Hale Chipman (1963-1967)

Quentin Coons (1967-1969)

Richard McMullan (1969-1971)

Richard Leahy (1971-1973)

Joseph Carty (1973-1976)

Jon Bond (1976-1979)

William Garside (1979-1982)

Jeanne Garside (1982-1988)

Grace Carty (1988-1989)

William Slattery (1989-1991)

Sally Medeiros (1991-1994)

Robert Norris (1994-1995)

Gertrude Daneau (1995-1999)

Thomas & Alice Hyslop (1999-2003)

Thomas Hyslop (2003-2004)

Robert Norris (2004-2008)

Wendy Bawabe (2008-present)

Photo:  Presidents of the Norwell Historical Society gathered at the 75th anniversary (in 2010) of the founding of the Society in 1935.  From left to right, Joseph Carty, Grace Carty, Bob Norris, William Slattery, Wendy Bawabe, and Gertrude Daneau.